As you may or may not know, I am in the last year of my geology degree. To graduate with an accredited geology degree (which I have been told matters) we have to complete a specific number of hours of fieldwork, the true making of a geologist.

Fieldwork can be both a blessing and a curse. So far I have been to Cornwall and Dorset, Assynt in Scotland and I have been to Northern Spain twice. The first trip to Spain was supervised only lasted 10 days and was a lot of fun once I’d had a drunken cry or two on John’s shoulder.

The second time I went to Spain was completely different. It was for 30 days and more or less completely unsupervised. So you can appreciate the scale of this task let me show you on google maps how far we walked every day.

Screen Shot 2016-10-26 at 16.05.08.png

You’re thinking only 2.55km, that’s not so bad well consider the fact that it is all up hill and at best it’s 20°c but at worst it’s 37°c and we had to do this pretty much everyday. Don’t get me wrong when you are up in the mountains the views are breathtaking and I wouldn’t change this experience for the world but it was tough with a capital T.

Without me blabbing on too much here are a selection of photos I took over the 30 days omitting the purely geological ones. Although most of them are just of the breathtaking scenery.

 

 

