Healthy Snacks and Flapjacks

I like to think I’m somewhat of a healthy person but I get hungry. Or more importantly John gets hungry. And when John gets hungry you know about it. So recently I have been trying to find healthier snacks to eat in between meals because let’s face it when you don’t have much to do or when you’re avoiding doing something (much more likely for me) then you get hungry. I’m actually pretty hungry now…

Anyway, I looked up a bunch of recipes online for ‘healthy’ snacks and decided on making blueberry flapjacks. Mainly because I had frozen blueberries that have been in the freezer a while… But also because John and I love oats. He actually makes this oat/yoghurt/honey thing that I can’t quite bring myself to eat but he claims is very filling so we always have oats in the cupboard. We sort of ‘cook’ for each other. John tends to buy the stuff and I’ll bake something then we both eat it usually with copious amounts of tea made by John. However we don’t share meals because I’m fussy and John eats like a horse!

This recipe worked much better than the last one probably because it was more fool proof!

IMG_20161030_011212498_HDR.jpg

I have left the recipe below in case my wonderful photography skills have inspired your inner baker. Also, the recipe made more than you can see in this photo but unfortunately the other flapjack didn’t come out quite as gracefully. (I’ve since added baking parchment to my shopping list)

Another relatively healthy snack I’ve found are hummus, carrot and rocket wraps which as long as you can eat over a plate (the grated carrot drips, a lot) are pretty tasty and quick to make. They’re also very versatile because you can swap the wrap for pitta or the rocket for spinach or the hummus for tzatziki, you get the idea. It’s helped me to use up left over bits and pieces in the fridge as well which is always a plus.

IMG_0182.jpg

If anyone has any healthy snack recipes I’d love to try something new if you want to leave a comment or link below.

So thanks for reading and here is the recipe!

Ingredients

  • 125g Butter (plus greasing)
  • 70g  Sugar
  • 40g  Honey
  • 170g Oats (preferably a mix of jumbo rolled and porridge oats)
  • 60g  Nuts or Seeds (I have a nut allergy so I used sunflower seeds)
  • zest of half a lemon
  • 40g  Self Raising Flour (I used gluten free)
  • 100g Blueberries (Frozen worked really well)
  • 40g  Dark/Plain/White Chocolate (I used dark because it’s somewhat healthier)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160c/140c fan assisted/gas mark 3. Grease and line a baking tin ~20cm base, I used a round tin because that’s all we have. Preferably also line with baking parchment to make removing the flapjacks a lot easier.
  2. Put the butter, sugar and honey in a pan to gently melt them together over a low heat. When melted remove from the heat and add the oats, nuts/seeds, lemon zest and flour to the pan. Mix well then add the blueberries. Once that’s all combined tip into the lined baking tin and press into an even layer.
  3. Bake for 45-50 minutes until golden brown and firm, but not burnt. Once cooked leave in the tin to cool completely.
  4. Once cooled lift the flapjack onto a board/plate/something flat that’s larger than the flapjack. Melt the chocolate using a bain-marie or in the microwave don’t burn it because it smells horrible . Drizzle the melted chocolate back and forth over the flapjack and leave to cool before cutting into squares.
  5. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Healthy Snacks and Flapjacks

Leave a Reply

